Homeschooling Moments with Micah: Out in Public

I’ve heard it said, that for the first 10-12 years of parenting, your children embarrass you.  But after that, you get to embarrass them!

A well-meaning lady in the store asked Micah if he was in school.

He enthusiastically answered, “Yes!  I’m in Kindergarten!  And, I’m Homeschooled!”

She sweetly replied, “That’s great!”

Micah’s response: “It IS great, because instead of spending a long time on math, we just do 2 or 3 minutes of math and then we’re done!

I don’t think that sweet lady will be nominating me for ‘Teacher of the Year’ anytime soon.

(Just to clarify … we spend much more than 2 or 3 minutes on math each day.  And, even though Micah is telling time quite well, he’s not allowed to “watch” his watch while we’re doing schoolwork.  So, in the end, I’m truly glad that he’s having so much fun with his curriculum that the time seems to fly by.)

One thought on “Homeschooling Moments with Micah: Out in Public

  1. HA HA HA HA!! At least he knows he’s in Kindergarten. People would always ask my kids what grade they were in and they would look at me all confused. :0)

Leave a Reply

