Happy October: Down syndrome Awareness Month

I’ve baked apple cake with caramel sauce and pumpkin bread.  We’ve run through some “crunchy” leaves on the ground at the park, and I saw Christmas lights being placed on store shelves, right next to the ghosts and goblins.

It’s October!

October is National Down syndrome Awareness Month.

Many blogs participate in the “31 for 21” Challenge (31 days in October, 21 for the extra copy of the 21st chromosome present in individuals with Down syndrome.)  By flooding the blogosphere with posts, we hope that others will take notice and  begin to see our beautiful children for the gifts they truly are.  I’ve never participated before, but I do have a lot of things I’ve been meaning to write about – and this might be the motivation I need to get it done!  But, instead of trying to post every day, I’m going to give myself a “21 for 21” Challenge – and try to post 21 times in October!

Ready??  I’m not sure I am….

6 thoughts on “Happy October: Down syndrome Awareness Month

  1. Hi Im april and Im new to your blog and have fallen in love with your little guyhe is a doll. the post about “changes” is great and the b-day pictures are priceless. Id like to follow along

    • Welcome, Welcome April! Thanks for reading, and thanks for sharing your blog, too! I’m going to add your blog to my list on my sidebar … and thanks for letting me re-post your things here! 🙂

  2. me, my strength, and just how much God trusts and loves me!What a blessing these children are! I have a child, Bella Grace, (Beautiful, Undeserved Gift From God), and she just turned 2 on the 25th of September. I was crushed when she was first born to us, and grieved the baby that we didn’t recieve, but had no idea of what God’s plan was for us. And as usual, it was much bigger, much greater, than anything that I could have dreamt for myself! She is our blessing, undeserved or not, We have her. and everyday she teaches me a little more about

  3. Pingback: Down syndrome 101 | Matthew Nicholas Vawter

Leave a Reply

