The Road to Recovery is Not Always Smooth

We know all too well that there are bumps in the road to recovery.  We’ve seen it before with Matthew (Bumps, Rough night, Tough day), but he had been doing SO well, we were hoping that this time we would have nothin’ but smooth sailing.

We arrived home late Tuesday evening, and Matthew slept through the night — amazing.  He was bright and chipper on Wednesday, slow to eat but taking fluids without a problem, then slept through the night again Wednesday night!  I can’t remember the last time we had two nights in a row without sleep interruptions from Matthew.  (Something very special happened Wednesday evening before I put Matthew to bed, too, but that will require it’s own post.)

Was it my imagination, or was I already noticing other improvements as well?  Wednesday and Thursday, Matthew’s words sounded more clear to me.  I was hearing diphthongs!  (For those of you who didn’t grow up in a household where diction was emphasized, a diphthong is a vowel sound that is actually made up of two separate sounds strung together.  The second sound is often subtle, but important nonetheless.)  For example, the word “no” used to sound like “n-oh” from Matthew, but now he is saying both vowel sounds, “noh-oo.”  (Maybe it was just all the practice he had saying “no” in the hospital?!)

Also, he says “hi,” instead of just “haaah” now.  There is a definite “Hah-ee” sound.  Today, I even heard a completely new word from him – “Yeah,” or “Yea-eee!”  It’s so much fun to see improvement in his speech already – it must help to be able to hear, and to not have two golf-balls in the back of his throat!

His throat is sore, though, and even though we’ve kept up on his tylenol and ibuprofen, the pain caught up to him last night.  He was fussy in the evening, and cried and cried at bedtime.  This is really unusual for our Matthew, but the more he cried, the more his throat hurt … and the more he cried.  It was a vicious cycle, and we had a really hard time calming him down.  He finally settled down about 3:30 am, but none of us had gotten any sleep.  He was exhausted today, refused his morning bottle, only ate a couple bites of breakfast, then only napped for 45 minutes.  Thanks to a neighbor bringing over his favorite ice cream, we did get some “nutrition” in him, and then he started drinking his milk again.  The same neighbor took Micah to her house for a couple hours today so I was able to rest a little bit when Matthew rested, and take better care of our little guy.

When I was brushing his teeth tonight, I noticed that he has a molar coming in!  The poor guy is teething a molar on top of recovering from tonsil surgery!

…….. I’ve been staring at this screen for 10 minutes, trying to figure out how to “wrap up” this post and say goodnight.  So, I think I better just say, “goodnight” and leave the rest for another time.  Thank you all for loving our Matthew, and caring enough to read this and check in on him.

4 thoughts on “The Road to Recovery is Not Always Smooth

  1. You are MORE than welcome! I’m glad that there was something that I could do to help!! Keep up the good work Matthew!!

    The Houghs

  2. Amy,

    I’m glad to hear that Matthew is already improving! I facebooked you, but I don’t know if you’ve had a chance to check it. Give me a call when you’re ready to get together. We’re going crazy with campaign stuff- Jim actually shot a commercial today and his debate is next Tuesday. My kids are bored out of their minds though and I need more breaks, so we’re ready to play! I hope Matthew sleeps better tonight!

    Jenn

  3. Poor little guy. Hooray for the speech improvements already, though! Sending you big hugs from all of us (and a big wet drooly kiss from Anders).

  4. Here’s to a good night sleep for all of you. And what good news – it really sounds like the surgery “worked”, now that darn molar just needs to come in…

Leave a Reply

