Babies don’t keep.

Song for a Fifth Child

by Ruth Hulburt Hamilton

Mother, oh Mother, come shake out your cloth,
Empty the dustpan, poison the moth,
Hang out the washing and butter the bread,
Sew on a button and make up a bed.
Where is the mother whose house is so shocking?
She’s up in the nursery, blissfully rocking.

Oh, I’ve grown shiftless as Little Boy Blue
(Lullaby, rockaby, lullaby loo).
Dishes are waiting and bills are past due
(Pat-a-cake, darling, and peek, peekaboo).
The shopping’s not done and there’s nothing for stew
And out in the yard there’s a hullabaloo
But I’m playing Kanga and this is my Roo.
Look! Aren’t her eyes the most wonderful hue?
(Lullaby, rockaby, lullaby loo).

The cleaning and scrubbing will wait till tomorrow,
For children grow up, as I’ve learned to my sorrow.
So quiet down, cobwebs. Dust go to sleep.
I’m rocking my baby and babies don’t keep.

My Jesse is growing up too quickly.

At 19 pounds, he is only 3 pounds away from catching our little 22-lb Matthew.

He can sit up.  He can push himself up to a sitting position.  He can crawl forward using just his arms – and is surprisingly quick.

He is getting up on “all fours,” even with his brace on.

He loves his “Johnny Jump Up.”

He is eating “real” food, and loving it.

And, he is 7 months old today.


Believe it or not, this is his “happy face.”

Whenever he gets really excited about something (especially food!), he bubbles with his lips.  It takes such concentration to do this, though, that the face is pretty priceless.

We love you more than you’ll ever know, Jesse.

7 thoughts on “Babies don’t keep.

  1. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE that poem!! I am going to put it on my blog too.

    So- I feel like a slacker of a friend- – I have been terrible about checking other blogs for a while. Things have been CRAZY. I feel like I am being pulled in so many directions all the time (I am sure you can relate). Marcus and Cynthia are both doing baseball and violin, along with long school days and homework . . .phew.

    I have a quiet minute so I am having fun catching up on your blog!

    I heard you were in town this week from Jon! I bet it was fun to visit Yakima, though I am guessing you don’t miss RESIDENCY . . . If for some reason you get this message before you come home (you might already be home) I would love to see you. Though I totally understand that you have many people and things to see, so only if you have time. Thanks for being so supportive of us and helping me through some rough times!

  2. Pingback: Grandpa reminded me that ‘Babies Don’t Keep’ | Russell's Feet – Our journey with Clubfoot

Leave a Reply

