Back in the Hospital with Matthew

While we were on vacation last week, we all got sick – cough, sore throat, etc. Little Matthew was the worst of all, however – he had vomiting and diarrhea, too – to the point where he couldn’t keep anything down, was refusing to even try to eat, and becoming quite dehydrated.

So, yesterday afternoon found us in the ER, where they started an IV to give him fluids, gave him Zofran to treat the nausea, and did a chest X-ray. One doctor thought the chest X-ray looked like he may be starting to get pneumonia, so decided to admit him to the hospital for IV antibiotics, continued rehydration, and observation. The pediatrician who saw him didn’t think the chest X-ray showed anything to be too concerned about (but did comment that it was a little hard to read with all the wires holding his sternum together after surgery, and his enlarged heart) – but still thought it would be good to keep him for awhile to get him rehydrated.

I left last night around 10:00, and Aaron spent the night with him in the hospital.  When I left, he was finally sleeping, and looking like he was feeling a bit better.  However, I just talked to Aaron, and they had a really rough night.  Around 11:30, Matthew started crying, and wouldn’t stop or be consoled.  Several hours later, they found that his IV had infiltrated – was filling up his arm with fluid instead of his vein – which is incredibly painful.  So, they had to find a new IV site … and by the time it was all done, Matthew was angry, exhausted, and in pain.  He finally went back to sleep a couple hours ago, but Aaron and Matthew got very little sleep last night.

We don’t know how long they are going to want to keep Matthew there – we’ll know more after the doctor sees him this morning.  So, for now we’re trying to figure out how to juggle the logistics of 3 kids – one who is nursing and can’t be left – and one who needs Mommy or Daddy with him in the hospital … and Daddy needs some rest.  My parents are out of town this week visiting my sister and her new baby, otherwise they would take Micah or help us in the hospital.

I’ll post again when we know more, but for now please say a prayer for recovery and rest for all of us.  Thanks.

6 thoughts on “Back in the Hospital with Matthew

  1. Oh, guys, I’m so sorry! I wish I were there to help! You guys are definitely in my prayers, especially Matthew. Hang in there–love you all! Prayers and blessings and healing to all of you.

  2. I haven’t been on the computer as much in the past two days. I’m sorry I missed this!! I’m also sorry that I can’t do more than pray…but pray I shall…for Matthew and all other issues that need to be covered. Blessings.

  3. Pingback: If you like Signing Time… I mean, REALLY like Signing Time… | Matthew Nicholas Vawter

Leave a Reply

