From Micah’s Mouth

Micah’s mouth is always moving – here is just a sampling of some things we’ve heard lately:

. . . . . . . . . . . .

“Maffew, say ‘da-da'”

Matthew: “da-da!”

Micah (very proudly): “Yup! I learned ‘im that!”

. . . . . . . . . . . .
While helping to clean 10″ of snow off the minivan up at the mountain:

Micah: “GOD!”

Mommy (cautiously): “What did you say, Micah?”

Micah: “Oh – I’m just talkin’ to God.”

Mommy: “o.k.  Go ahead!”

Micah (playfully): “GOD!! Why did you cover up our car with SNOW!???”

. . . . . . . . . .

Micah eating dinosaur chicken nuggets:

“Mommy, is this a styracosaurus or a protoceratops?”

“What do you think, Micah?”

“Well, the frill does look a little bumpy, so I think those are the spines. It must be a styracosaurus.”

. . . . . . . . . .

“Mommy, I need to feed my babies.”

(half paying attention): “o.k, Micah”

“he-he-he-he.  Mommy, it tickles a little bit when I feed them!”

yes – he’s pulled his shirt up, and has two dinosaur “babies” latched on!

. . . . . . . . . .

At dinner, when we were really having a battle with Matthew over throwing his food, Aaron and I both had our attention mainly focused on Matthew.  Meanwhile, Micah was slurping his yogurt off his spoon with each bite, giving us (as usual) a running commentary that we largely tuned-out, due to our focus on throwing, screaming Matthew and the attention/discipline he needed.  This time, though, the comments went something like this:

“I’m a good boy, I’m not throwing my food (slurp).  I’m a good boy, am I?  I’m just eating (slurp).  I never throw my food (slurp).  I do a good job and I’m not getting in trouble (slurp).  I don’t need time outs.  Matthew needs time outs, but I don’t need time outs (slurp) because I’m being good.  I’m the best boy at the table (slurp).  … I’m just suckin’ up!”

At that point, Aaron and I couldn’t help but just stop and laugh.  He meant his yogurt … and questioned what was so funny!  Aaron just explained, “It’s funny for reasons you don’t understand, Micah!”

I’m happy to say that we seem to have won the battle with Matthew (for now).  He hasn’t thrown his food, spoon, or cup for about 4 days now – he makes sure we’re watching, then proudly puts the object on his tray and expects praise.  He even ate with a plate for the first time, and it stayed on the table through an entire dinner!  It’s been a long battle, but has shown us that consistent, repeated discipline will work if we stick to it long enough, and encouraged us to “keep it up” in other areas, too!

. . . . . . . . . . . .

At the point of exhaustion when every task seems monumental:

Mommy:  “Micah, please go potty before bed.”

Micah: “Well, you see … (sigh) … The problem with going potty is … (sigh) … that then I have to clean my bottom.”

4 thoughts on “From Micah’s Mouth

  1. Oh my goodness, Amy! This is hilarious! I can’t believe how your kids have grown this year. Precious little boys! Thank you for keeping us up to date via your blog. I check it every day. We love you and miss you!

    Love, Jennifer (Doug and the girls too)

    • Thanks, Jen!

      It’s good to hear from you! How are you all doing? I’ve been wondering about you all – but I’ve been terrible at keeping in touch lately. What is going on in your lives? Are you still working? How is Doug’s job? How are the girls?

      It means a lot to me that you still check the blog – even though I’m slow to post updates. We miss you, too! Hope we can catch up sometime soon. Our phone # here is Walla Walla is 509-522-5226

      Love,

      Amy

  2. My kids wanted to see what was so funny- I was laughing so hard reading this! The best is the last one. Sometimes life is just so hard….HA HA HA!!

Leave a Reply

