Talipes Terminology

Quick question:

I’ve been using the phrase “club foot” to describe Jesse’s foot, but I’ve recently discovered that may not be correct. 

Medically, the term is “talipes”

talipes /tal·i·pes/ (tal´ĭ-pēz) a congenital deformity in which the foot is twisted out of shape or position; it may be in dorsiflexion (t. calca´neus), in plantar flexion (t. equi´nus), abducted and everted (t. val´gus or flatfoot), abducted and inverted (t. va´rus), or various combinations (t. calcaneoval´gus, t. calcaneova´rus, t. equinoval´gus, or t. equinova´rus) .

However, this condition is commonly called  _______?:

a) “club foot”

b) “clubfoot”

c) “clubbed foot”

I’m asking you, my readers, to help me.  What is the right term?

4 thoughts on “Talipes Terminology

  1. I had thought it was “clubbed foot”, but your use of “club foot” also seemed fine… so without looking up the answer, I guess my response is “c”. 🙂

    Is Jesse letting you get any more sleep yet?

  2. I’ll admit, I had to look it up. Wikipedia had it listed both as club foot and clubfoot. They know a whole lot more than I do. I’m interested to hear how the sleep issue is going too. How are you?

  3. C – clubbed foot would be our vote. Though medical terminology commonly takes on multiple forms which all refer to the same thing just to make life a bit more confusing for all including us doctors.

  4. I’ve always used Clubfoot, which is what they use in Iowa, but I think that any of those is correct. Also, if you search on Amazon, most of the medical books use clubfoot, but some of call it club-foot.

    We’ve been having a discussion this week on our Ponseti support group and found out that although Talipes is used for clubfoot, it can refer to up to four different types of ankle/foot conditions. The long version that refers directly to clubfoot is CTEV or Congenital talipes equinovarus.

    I agree, it is confusing!

Leave a Reply

