i did it.

IMG_3822

What did I do?

Well, I beat the odds.  I lived.  I healed my heart, and lived when the doctors said I wouldn’t.

Then, I sailed through my open-heart surgery, spending only 5 days in the hospital.

I started eating on my own, got rid of the feeding tube, and breathed without the help of oxygen.

And, I was just getting started.

IMG_3820

I rolled over.  I sat up.  I learned to crawl.

I took my first steps.  Then, I took thousands more steps, with each one getting faster and more steady.  Now I can go anywhere . . . grass?  uneven ground?  dirt?  rocks?  No problem!!

I can even climb up and down stairs now.  By myself.

That’s right!  I did it!

IMG_3831

I have learned to use over a dozen ASL signs to communicate, and I can feed myself with a fork.

And, along the way I’ve managed to charm everyone I meet.  Yup – I guess I’m just that cute.

I did it, alright – I did it with an extra chromosome.  And, I am just.  getting.  started.

I think you’ll agree that I deserve a round of applause.

IMG_3812

.

.

Oh, and did I mention I have a desk job?  Answering phones, taking messages . . .

IMG_3851

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

We got the “i did it” shirt from Jennifer at Three’s a Charm.  She is using the proceeds from the shirts to give copies of Gifts 2 to parents of kids with an extra chromosome.  You can read more about it and the “i did it” campaign here.  You can even become a fan of “i did it” on facebook, and see other cuties sporting the shirts.

5 thoughts on “i did it.

  1. Congratulations! We’re so very proud of you, and we’re excited to see what you’ll do next. 🙂

    Lots of love,
    Aunt Shannon and Uncle Jim

  2. What a miracle boy! I can’t wait to meet him. Which may be soon…we may be moving back to Walla Walla! We’re trying to buy the old Colonial Dewitt funeral home and convert it back to a funeral home. We should know the end of the week if it’s going to go through.

Leave a Reply

