What if?

When I was little, my dad used to read me some Shel Silverstein poems.  One was about little creatures called “Whatifs” that would crawl inside your ear at night and whisper worries regarding all the “What-if’s” in life.  I still have days when those Whatifs come creeping, whispering all sorts of worries about raising my precious son who has Down syndrome.  I think all parents of kiddos with special needs have difficult days now and then, worrying about their child’s future.  Nobody worries more, however, than the expectant parent – the one who has just received a “diagnosis” from their doctor, but who has not yet been able to hold their baby in their arms or look into his or her beautiful eyes.  I ran across an alternate list of “What-if’s” on another blog, and I believe Jessica was the original author.  It touched me, and I couldn’t resist republishing her list, and adding some of my own.

What if . . . ?

What if you fall madly, deeply, and hopelessly in love with your new baby?

What if he is the most amazing human being you will ever know?

What if he makes you a better person?

What if he makes your other children grow to be better people than they would have been without him in their lives?

What if you fall in love with your husband all over again for the way he fathers your son?

What if he brings you closer to God?

What if he touches and encourages more people than you can ever imagine?

What if he loves you more completely and sincerely than any other person you’ll know?

What if he is much more alike than different from other children his age?

What if he connects you with an amazing community of people that you otherwise would never know?

I invite you to add your own comments – what “What-if’s” can you add?

One thought on “What if?

  1. I was listening to Marc Cohn on the way to work this morning, and your post made me think of a couple of lines from his song, “The things we’ve handed down.”

    Don’t know much about you
    Don’t know who you are
    We’ve been doing fine without you
    But we could only go so far

    Don’t know why you chose us
    Were you watching from above
    Is there someone there who knows us
    Said we’d give you all our love

    Also, here are my small couple of additions to your What If’s:

    What if he helps you discover countless new joys that you had overlooked or never knew existed?

    What if he makes you proud?

Leave a Reply

