Aahhhh . . . . .

What a wonderful day.

We drove up to “the mountain” last night – to the condo that Aaron’s parents own in Northern Idaho.  Yesterday was a busy day of packing, organizing, grocery shopping, accounting for everyone’s ski gear, and yes . . . the inevitable search for the “lost mitten.”  Once we were in the car, the kids settled in and went right to sleep, and Aaron and I enjoyed a peaceful drive and a chance to talk with each other.

Today, we did . . . well, pretty much nothing!  But it has been great!  After many late-night ER shifts in a row, Aaron was very ready for some R&R, and the kids and I really needed some “daddy time.”  We slept in, we relaxed, we snuggled up with some books, we did puzzles, and of course had a wrestling/tickling session . . . which is far more fun when daddy’s here! 

After lunch, everyone took a nap, which is a special luxury for me these days, since I am still feeling quite exhausted with this pregnancy.  Micah rarely naps anymore, but he layed down with me and went right to sleep.  I woke up to a sweet, quiet voice saying, “I love you, Mommy.”  What more could I ask for?

Aaron just took Micah outside to play in the snow for awhile, then we’ll head into town to enjoy”the best pizza in the whole world.”  And you know that my husband, the world-traveler, knows his pizza!

The best part is that we still have 4 more days to enjoy!

By the way, I know that I am overdue for an update on Matthew’s motor skills . . . but he took 6 steps in a row yesterday!  Not bad for just 17-months old – but only 9 months with a working heart!

2 thoughts on “Aahhhh . . . . .

  1. Glad you guys are having a good vacation! You DESERVE it!!! Congrats on Matthew taking his first few steps – – he is doing sooo amazingly well. My niece started walking at 17 months- and she does not have Down’s Syndrome or any kind of disability, so Matthew must be doing GREAT to be developing so fast.

    I don’t know if you have had a chance to check my blog yet, but I AM pregnant! When I talked to you last week, I was pregnant but didn’t know it yet! I am so excited. A bit scared, but completely ready to take on the challenge of the next few months. I feel like God is really giving me the strength I need emotionally to handle it. I realize now that this is TRULY what I have been yearning for, even if I fooled myself into thinking it was maybe for the better that it was taking awhile (with Jon’s crazy schedule,etc.). Well – – here we are and I am so happy. Thanks for all your encouragement!

  2. I’m so happy to hear that you guys are enjoying your vacation! Enjoy every minute of your special family time together.

    And a big congratulations for Matthew! Way to go – six steps is fantastic! We need to get the boys together again so he can teach Charlie his tricks.

Leave a Reply

