“That look”

It is really wonderful to have Aaron home this week – we are all enjoying the time together.

I went out to do a couple errands this afternoon while the boys were napping, and a funny thing happened while I was at Costco.  An employee saw me shopping and said, “Now, that’s the way to shop – all by yourself, without the little helpers along!”

My initial reaction was a smile, and I said, “Yes, it is nice.”

Then, I thought, Wait a minute! How does he know I’m a mom? So, I asked him how he knew I usually shopped with little helpers.

He said, “Oh, I don’t know – you just have that look.”

THAT LOOK! What look?  I quickly checked myself for any spit-up on my shoulder or “Lightning McQueen” stickers on the back of my pants . . . nope.  I guess I just have that “mom” look now.

When I came home, the boys were awake.  Micah crawled up into my lap while I was holding Matthew, and we had a good, long snuggle.  Micah looked up at me and said, “Mommy has two boys.”  Yes, Mommy has two boys, and there really is nothing I’d rather be than “mom” right now.

Leave a Reply

